Australian Superbike - Round 7

Robbie Bugden sealed third place in the 2006 Australian Superbike Championship and led the charge in Suzuki’s Manufacturer’s Championship victory at Eastern Creek Raceway on Sunday.

Bugden and his team mate Shawn Giles wrapped up the 2006 season on a high note with both riders on the podium for the round, placing third and second respectively.

In the overall championship standings, Suzuki starred with four riders in the top ten for the season with Bugden in third, Andrew Stroud close behind in fourth, Giles in ninth and Shannon Etheridge rounding out 10th place.

The weekend began strongly for the Yoshimura Suzuki pair with Bugden and Giles both qualifying on the front row of the grid for Sunday’s two 13-lap races.

Race one saw Giles positioned strongly in second place with Bugden on the attack and moving from fourth up into third spot aboard his GSX-R1000 Superbike until lap eight when an incident involving Wayne Maxwell brought out the red flags to stop the race.

Resuming the first race battle with a five-lap sprint race, Giles made a rare jump start error and was issued a 10-second time penalty.

Bugden continued his positive run and launched himself ahead of Giles and the Suzuki team mates enjoyed a good close duel until Giles eventually slipped by Bugden to see the pair cross the finish line in second and third places. However, Giles’ penalty dropped him back down the timesheets to third place and elevated Bugden to second.

In scintillating form in race two, Giles took the lead from the race start and stretched a significant race lead on the opening lap, commanding the race lead until lap five when he was passed by Jamie Stauffer. Giles then maintained pace with the new champion and preserved second place to the finish line.

Bugden was again on a mission and after prevailing in a fierce fight with Shannon Johnson, the Suzuki rider was impressive as he diced with the three-time Australian Champion.

The Suzuki duo greeted the chequered flag line astern with Giles nudging out Bugden to maintain second for the race and the round overall.

Bugden brought his Yoshimura Suzuki home in third place behind Giles in second with both riders scoring 38 points each for the round, with the latter awarded second spot overall for the meeting by virtue of his higher placing in the final race.

Team Yoshimura Suzuki now turns its attentions to reclaiming the Australian Superbike Championship with preparations already underway for the 2007 championship assault.

Superbike Overall Results - Round 7
1. Jamie Stauffer
2. Shawn Giles
3. Robbie Bugden
4. Bryan Staring
5. Russell Holland
6. Shannon Johnson
7. Andrew Stroud
8. Glenn Allerton
9. Trent Gibson
10. Brenden Gurowski

Final Superbike Championship Points
1. Jamie Stauffer 320
2. Russell Holland 264
3. Robbie Bugden 204.5
4. Andrew Stroud 201
5. Scott Charlton 157.5
6. Shannon Johnson 155.5
7. Daniel Stauffer 150
8. Wayne Maxwell 134
9. Shawn Giles 130
10. Shannon Etheridge 124.5

Australian Superstock

Suzuki rider Ian Andrews sealed victory in the 2006 Australian Superstock Cup in the final round at Eastern Creek on 19 November.

The Kessner Suzuki privateer produced a string of dominant performances throughout the season, placing him in a strong position heading into the final round.

Andrews had a difficult weekend for the final round including a crash in race one, but his points buffer was sufficient for the South Australian rider to clinch the title with a comfortable margin over second place, despite finishing 12th on the day.

Beginning the season on a 2004-model Suzuki, Andrews stepped up mid-season to the 2006 version GSX-R600 with technical support from Team Yoshimura Suzuki.

Capping off a stellar season, the talented young pilot was also awarded the Kirk McCarthy Memorial Award in recognition of his exceptional talent.

Winning both the Superstock Cup and the Kirk McCarthy Memorial Award, Andrews’ achievements are the springboard to launch him into the Australian Supersport Championship aboard a new 2007-model GSX-R600.

2006 Australian Superstock Cup Championship Standings
1. Ian Andrews (Suzuki GSX-R600) 418
2. Chris Trounsen 406
3. Josh Houwen 342
4. Anthony Quinn 339
5. Danny Higgins 280
6. Scott Yates 239
7. Bradd McConnell 213
8. Anton Kokshoorn 211
9. Darren Sciberras 193
10. Tim Cowie 185

Formula Xtreme Cup

Suzuki Newcastle’s Michael Fraser capped off a dominant season to seal victory in the 2006 Formula Xtreme Cup at Eastern Creek Raceway (NSW) on Sunday.

Making his national-level racing debut this year, 29-year-old Fraser quickly asserted himself as a series contender and ultimately claimed five of seven round wins, including the Eastern Creek finale.

Fraser entered the closing round with a 33.5-point advantage and stretched the margin with pole position and three straight race wins to 69.5 points, wrapping up his sensational season with a supremely dominant performance which netted his first Australian championship.

2006 Australian Formula Xtreme Cup Championship Standings
1. Michael Fraser 406.5
2. Cameron Barnes 337
3. Craig Domaschenz 313
4. James Van Rooyen 266.5
5. Shayne Whiteley 172
6. Chris Trounson 135
7. Chris Panayi 133.5
8. Chris Williams 118
9. Richard Parry 113.5
10. Peter Grasser 112